The B.Sc. Management (Public) General (External) degree programme was introduced in 1997 by the Department of Public Administration of the Faculty of Management Studies and Commerce, University of Sri Jayewardenepura.  All the academic affairs pertaining to the degree programme are carried out by the Department of Public Administration whilst administrative matters are carried out by the External Examination Branch of the University of Sri Jayewardenepura.


  • Enhancing the knowledge in the sphere of Management and Public Administration in Sri Lanka.
  • Creating more avenues for those who have passed the Advanced Level examination but were unable to get admitted to the National University system to obtain a degree in Management and Public Administration disciplines.
  • Facilitating employees in the private and public sectors for further continuing their education and strengthening the professional linkage between the Department of public Administration and those organizations.
  • Providing a path for those who wish to pursue higher education.

External Degree Programme News

Orientation Programme of B.Sc. Management (Public) General (External) Degree for the Academic Year 2022

The orientation programme of B.Sc. Management (Public) General (External) Degree of the new intake was conducted on 11th February 2023 through zoom. All the new students were welcomed to the The distinguished guests; Acting Vice-Chancellor, Professor Upul Subasinghe, Dean of the Faculty, Professor P.D. Nimal,  Head of the Department, Dr. R. P. C. K. Jayasinghe, […]


Primary Point Of Contact

External Degree Programme Coordinator,
Department of Public Administration.
Tele: 0112 758 866
Fax: 011-2801855

Other Important Info

Maximum Intake
The annual intake will be limited to 500 students. If the number exceeds 500, qualified applicants are called for a Placement Test, and candidates who earn highest marks at the placement test are eligible to register for the programme.

Length of the Degree Program
Three (03)  Years.

The Curriculum Structure
The curriculum consists of 18  compulsory courses .