Team Beyond Infinity emerge champions at the 2nd edition of Infinity Intra-University Case Study Competition 2020

Team Beyond Infinity emerge champions at the 2nd edition of Infinity Intra-University Case Study Competition 2020


Sayuri Senaratna, Sanidu Hettiarachchi, Pamudi Rajakaruna


The 2nd edition of Infinity a flagship project organized by the Commerce Society the student body of the Department of Commerce ended on the 21st of March 2021. The first round of the competition was conducted physically on the 29th of February 2020 and the pandemic situation change the landscape of the competition where the knockout stages were held virtually.  Twelve teams across different faculties took part in the 2nd edition and many noteworthy solutions were discussed throughout the three different rounds. The platinum sponsors for the event were two leading institutions in the island Abans (Pvt) Ltd and Association of Accounting Technicians of Sri Lanka (AAT Sri Lanka).

Under the theme ”Face the Challenge” Infinity Case study competition was organized for the very first time in 2019 with the objective of enhancing the knowledge of the participants about how the corporate world functions and practical applications of theories learnt during their university life.

Team Beyond Infinity, Team Slytherin and Team Gladiators qualified to the grand finale trying to prove themselves in front of expert panellist which included Mr. Chathura Jayawardana – Director of Abans Information Systems (Abans PLC), Dr. W. Mahesh N. Fernando – Head of the Department of Information Technology, Dr. J.W. Dushan Chaminda – Senior Lecturer from Department of Marketing  Management, Mrs. D.M. Sachinthanee Dissanayake  – Lecturer from Department of Commerce and Ms. D.N. Pandithasekra – Lecturer from Department of Commerce.


Winning solution was by team Beyond Infinity suggesting to introduce a loyalty program coupled with reward programs for the problem of measuring customer satisfaction after purchase in the short run and long run and deep analysis was made by the team which you can watch through the link provided below.

The winners’ team Beyond Infinity was awarded Rs. 60 000 following 1st Runners-up Team Slytherin was awarded Rs. 30 000 and Rs. 15 000 was awarded Team Gladiators was securing the 2nd Runner Up position.  We wish them all the very best in their future endeavours.

Sewwandi Ranasinghe, Dulani Rasanthika, Sajini Perera

Kavindu Aditya, Malik Nazahim, Chathura Perera